Master Class Series

An inside view of the creative process,
from masters of the craft, in an intimate setting

CRAIG LUCAS    Monday, April 7 at 7pm

Craig Lucas's plays include: Missing Persons, Reckless, Blue Window, Prelude To A Kiss, God's Heart, The Dying Gaul, Stranger, This Thing Of Darkness (with David Schulner), Small Tragedy, The Singing Forest, Prayer For My Enemy, Ode To Joy, I Was Most Alive With You.  Screenplays: Blue Window, Longtime Companion, Prelude to a Kiss, Reckless, The Secret Lives of Dentists, The Dying Gaul.   Librettti:  Two Boys (Nico Muhly, composer), The Light in the Piazza (Adam Guettel, music & lyrics), Cinderella (Prokoviev, Christopher Wheeldon choreographer), An American in Paris (George & Ira Gershwin; Christopher Wheeldon, director), Amelie (Dan Messe, music & lyrics, Nathan Tysen, lyrics), 3 Postcards (Craig Carnelia, music & lyrics).  Director: The Dying Gaul (film), Birds of America (film), The Light in the Piazza (stage, world premiere, Initman), This Thing of Darkness (stage, world premiere), Saved or Destroyed (stage, Harry Kondoleon), Play Yourself (stage, Harry Kondoleon), Ode to Joy (stage, world premiere).  New English adapations: Galileo (Brecht), Miss Julie (Strindberg), Three Sisters & Uncle Vanya (Chekhov), The Wild Duck (Ibsen).  Awards/Fellowships: Twice nominated for the Tony, Pulitzer Finalist, 3 Obie Awards (one for directing Saved or Destroyed), New York Film Critics Best Screenplay Award (The Secret Lives of Dentists), Steinberg New Play Award (The Singing Forest), Laura Pels/PEN Mid-Career Achievement, Greenfield Prize, Excellence in Literature Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters; NEA, Rockefeller and Guggenheim Fellowships. 

The Master Class Series is free and open to the public. Reservations required:

2013 Master Classes included:

2012 Master Classes included:


About Master Class Series

The Master Class series enhances Cherry Lane's mission to serve emerging as well as established talent within Cherry Lane’s community of artists. In our intimate, historic setting, we offer Master Class participants focused contact with distinguished artists in discussions that range from the challenges of the artistic process and production, to navigating professional partnerships, to the moment that inspired their commitment to working in theatre.

The program began in 2000 when Edward Albee agreed to take part in a question-and-answer session about his writing process. The event was so successful that he agreed to return the following year for an expanded session that included playwrights Alfred Uhry, Craig Lucas, David Henry Hwang, Marsha Norman and A.R. Gurney.

Since the program’s conception, the Master Class Series has engaged the most exciting, legendary and iconic artists working in theatre today. Together they hold twelve Pulitzer Prizes, thirty-five Tony awards, and twenty-one Obie awards. They include Edward Albee, David Auburn, Amiri Baraka, Lee Blessing, Ed Bullins, Kia Corthron, Gretchen Cryer, Tyne Daly, George DiCenzo, Jules Feiffer, Charles Fuller, A.R. Gurney, Israel Horovitz, Tina Howe, David Henry Hwang, Arthur Kopit, Arthur Laurents, David Lindsay-Abaire, Craig Lucas, Eduardo Machado, Emily Mann, Terrence McNally, Charles Mee, Marsha Norman, Lynn Nottage, Harold Prince, Theresa Rebeck, Sam Shepard, Alfred Uhry, Wendy Wasserstein, and Michael Weller. 

The Master Class series is in step with Cherry Lane’s unwavering commitment to giving a voice and stage to both emerging and established playwrights, and serves as a companion piece to Cherry Lane’s groundbreaking Mentor Project, which each year pairs a young writer with a storied writer in the development, writing and production of a new work at Cherry Lane.